National health scheme brings ‘smart’ insurance to India’s poor | Environment | DW.DE | 12.09.2011

RSBY logo

I am rather surprised that people still refer to RSBY as a new health insurance system. It is going on its 6 year at this point and touching millions everyday.

A new smart card system is providing health insurance for Indians living below the poverty line. Chotew Lal has been laid up in hospital bed in Northern Delhi for several weeks with a broken shoulder.”I came to this hospital because it’s the nearest. When I came here, I had no money but my smart card,” he said.

“I had no problems – I didn’t have to wait, and my treatment started right away.“

National health scheme brings ‘smart’ insurance to India’s poor | Environment | DW.DE | 12.09.2011.

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 comments on “National health scheme brings ‘smart’ insurance to India’s poor | Environment | DW.DE | 12.09.2011

  1. Dr D V Saharan says:

    Sir,UR absolutely right

  2. […] National health scheme brings ‘smart’ insurance to India’s poor | Environment | DW… […]

Leave a Reply

